Colleen Bastendorff


John Blumthal

John, a founding member of AWB-Oregon, is Secretary/Treasurer and a member of the Steering Committee. He has led or been a member of AWB-Oregon volunteer teams serving communities in Oregon, Washington, Haiti, Ethiopia, and Somalia. John retired in 2012 from his position as a principal at Yost Grube Hall Architecture where he led teams serving college and university clients.

Matt Leavitt

Matt, AWB-Oregon's newest steering committee member, is working to become a licensed architect at Hacker. With a background in woodworking he enjoys contributing to small-scale design-build projects.


Rod Merrick

Rod is a founding member of AWB-Oregon and president of the Oregon corporation. On the Steering Committee he oversees the Projects Group with John Blumthal. He has led AWB volunteer teams on several education-related projects in Africa. Rod is principal of Merrick Architecture Planning and his family now includes three generations living in southeast Portland.

Catherine Paglin

Catherine has served on the Steering Committee since 2012. She is AWB-Oregon's Communications Coordinator, responsible for AWB’s newsletter, website, and social media presence. She also fields inquiries from prospective volunteers.


chandra headshot.jpg

Chandra Robinson


KPFF_Craig_Totten 2014.JPG

Craig Totten

Craig is a structural engineer and member of the AWB Steering Committee. He has been working with AWB since 2010 and has been actively involved in projects in Oregon, Haiti and Nepal. Craig is a partner in the Portland office of KPFF Consulting Engineers.


Kent Wu

Kent, a member of the Steering Committee, is an architect at GBD Architects and has been volunteering with AWB-Oregon since 2011.